From the illustrated social history book…
“Blantyre – Glasgow Road, The Real Story” by Paul Veverka (c) 2016 – 2018.
|Constructed: >1906<1909||Other Names: None|
|Constructor: William Coats||Original Address: Name only|
|House Type: Detached Villa||Current Address: 315 Glasgow Road|
Brief Summary: William Coats of nearby Stonefield Cottage obtained this vacant plot of land sometime between 1906 and 1909. He constructed a well built, stone detached cottage of one and a half storeys.
As the picture shows there are certainly some tudor influences in the design. His build was likely to allow family members to live close together. The Coats family of Blantyreferme were responsible for building several buildings on Glasgow Road including those around the Stonefield Tavern and were one of the most prominent property owners on Glasgow Road during the late 19th and early 20th Centuries.
Despite sounding slightly French, ‘Arnot’ has its roots in Scottish origin in Kinross-shire. The name most fitting to Coats purchase of Wheatlandhead Farm fields, for in Gaelic it translates as “the place where barley is grown.”
Margaret Coats, a spinster and sister of William, would live at this address which was always 315 Glasgow Road until her death in the early 1920’s. The house went to her trustees, letting out to Peter Craig, a grocer in the mid 1920’s. In 1930, this handsome house was empty as sale was progressed to Helen and Margaret Weir, who bought the house for their retirement.
In later post war years, the ‘Averell’ Family lived there. The cottage is today, well kept, pretty in appearance and is unique in its design and charm.
Featuring Blantyre Project Social Media with permission. Strictly not for use by others on or offline, our visitors said,