1986 Blantyre Speedway

A fantastic picture of the Tigers at Blantyre Speedway.

The location is Craighead Park (the 2nd site of Blantyre Speedway) and the date is known as 25th April 1986, just 5 months before it closed for good.

The riders are all known too, named on the photo as Ray Palmer, Bobby Beaton, Kenny Brailsford, Geoff Powell, Jim Beaton, Martin McKinna and Nathan Murray. On the bottom row is Colin Caffrey, Steve Lawson on the bike, Kelvin Jelaca & Jackson Irving.

It was nearing the end of an era for Blantyre Speedway. Do you remember days out to the racing tracks?

Leave a Reply