Pictured here in 1930 in a previously unpublished photo is The Wages Offices, Blantyre Works, Low Blantyre. A truly unique building in terms of its architecture and purpose. Located at the end of Station Road, the building dates back to the 1790s built around the time of the David Dales, Blantyre Works Mills.
Adjacent to the mill and next to the current Livingstone bridge, this beautiful little building was a working premises, used by clerks of the mill. It was used not only as an office, but to prepare wages for the many hundreds of workers, something of a full time task.
Wages in the early days of the company were partly paid in bronze coins called “Store Order for Goods” with values of 5s, 1s, 6d and 0.5d, which originally could ONLY be spent in shops within the Village works! The company then reimbursed the shopkeepers in sterling to the value of the bronze coins spent in their premises. This practice however was soon after made illegal by National legislation, as it
forced workers to spend entire wages only within their local area and was open to monopolies and corruption.
On 12th January 1971, Historic Scotland recognised the importance of this building and its heritage, by listing it as Category B, on the same day as the adjacent Mill House.
By 1984, the old derelict building was in much need of renovation. That same year it was up for sale for just £6,000.
Today, the property is renovated and is a beautiful private house, quite unlike any other in Blantyre.