1960 Designing the Parkville

These drawing plans shows the Parkville, a public house on Glasgow Road in Blantyre. The architectural practice Cullen, Lochhead and Brown created this detailed set of architectural drawings between March 1959 and November 1960 before converting the former surgery practice buildings into new licensed premises. The first time the old Parkville house became a pub. The Parkville still exists under the same name today, recently renovated and functions as a vibrant Blantyre community pub.

Originally built around the 1890’s, the Parkville was formerly the home of Dr John Cowan Wilson who passed away there at New Year 1938. The first publican and owner of the above plans was Robert Whitelaw.

Leave a Reply

Blantyre Project - Official History Archives South Lanarkshire © 2019 Frontier Theme
%d bloggers like this: